Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

A Cop Out of Sorts

the police state and the lack of soul in Singapore
3

This video was made during my second day in Singapore, and there was a brief moment where I thought I might have been too harsh and judgmental. I stumbled onto a sports complex during my third night and came across people of all types and ages, roller skating, skateboarding, running, and doing dance classes. It felt vibrant and soulful, and I was ready to take back my words. But last night, I attended a house party with many locals and heard some horror stories about rent.

The host of the party told me that she needs to move out because the landlord increased her rent from $3700 to $5000. There is no rent control in Singapore, and with so many people from nearby Hong Kong fleeing to Singapore, the demand is high, and the landlords are just being greedy a-holes. It’s downright illegal. I was told the average rent increase is $1000. This, combined with the story Shanthi told me about the execution of a poor Indian Malay man who was trying to smuggle drugs across the border, I am right back to this country has no soul. Also, what’s up with the absolute zero fucks about plastic straws, in fact plastic everywhere, styrofoam, and the total lack of electric busses and biking infrastructure. Singapore, you are not for me.

3 Comments
Sample Size of One
Sample Size of One
Authors
Kiet T